09 August 2017
We gained an exclusive interview with the team behind one of Melbourne’s most well-known Instagram accounts, Historical Melbourne, about their favourite historical buildings near the T&G Building. Take a step back in time with us to explore some of Melbourne’s heritage architecture, right on the doorstep of the T&G Building.
162-168 Collins Street
IMAGE CREDIT: Courtesy of State Library Victoria, www.slv.vic.gov.au
Located on Collins Street, across the road from the T&G Building, is the former Georges Department Store, now known as Georges on Collins, designed by Grainger & D’Ebro and completed in 1884. The building was later extended to Little Collins Street in 1891.
As the only 19th century department store remaining substantially intact in Victoria, this building is of immense heritage importance and is the site of what became Melbourne’s most exclusive department store.
A new restaurant and wine bar called The George on Collins opened at this location on 23 June. The refurbishment and fit-out was done by Hecker Guthrie.
McDonald & Co Building
165 Flinders Lane
IMAGE CREDIT: Instagram @thecitygrammar
The McDonald & Co Building was developed by a clothing manufacturer in 1921. This laneway was once the centre of Melbourne’s rag trade and in some areas, still is today.
The McDonald & Co Building was designed by Robertson & Marks architects. Currently, there are dry cleaners on the ground floor with private offices upstairs.
133-139 Collins Street
IMAGE CREDIT: The Collectors Marvelous Melbourne
The grand building at 133-139 Collins Street, now home to Louis Vuitton, was built as a medical practice for Doctor J.G. Beaney in 1887 and designed by architect William Salway in a Victorian Mannerist style. It is located just across the road from the T&G Building.
The laneway behind it, which leads to Spice Market Bar, is named after J.G. Beaney, an Australian surgeon, politician and philanthropist.
From 1916 The Alexandra Club occupied the building, an exclusive club for women where one could socialise, relax, dine and stay overnight in the heart of Melbourne.
A top storey was added in 1918 (removing a corner tower in the process) extending along both street fronts in the 1920s. Care was taken to match the design features of the additional level to the original building.
The Alexandra Club relocated in 1984 and now the building is leased to various corporate tenants.
Melbourne prides itself on the preservation of Melbourne’s rich heritage architecture and culture. The T&G Building is one of many beautiful buildings dating back to the early 1900’s – circa 1928 it was the most prominent interwar office address in Melbourne – a place where Victorian business and commerce flourished.
Find out more about the history of the T&G Building in this blog.